Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Just A Driver
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jublke Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 12:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

This popped up on the random story generator today and I realized that I don't think I've ever read this as a finished piece.  You've tied things up nicely here at the end - it was a good story before, but your edits made it stronger.  It's enjoyable to watch them coming together to form a team, and realizing just what it takes to be a successful team rather than to succeed as individuals.  Nicely done.  :)  

Reviewer: Cricket Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2011 2:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

I've been jumping around the timeline in your series this weekend. I read Black Belt just before this one. A bit jarring read back-to-back, but believable. It shows how difficult it was for them to become a team. They had smooth parts and rough parts. Some parts of their relationship were smoother than others.

Had to laugh a bit in a later story, not sure which one, where Jason calmly says he's just a driver and is okay with what others will assume.

Reviewer: ghost owl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2010 2:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

I really liked the way you explored the dynamic between Jason and Mark in this story. Mark's last line was priceless. :)

Reviewer: WyldKat Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2008 9:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

Excellent, as always.  :-)  My one quibble is Jason wining.  It was too predictable.   I think it could have been as effective, and a bit more realistic, if he took third or second.  You do say he was competing against pros.  <sg> 



Author's Response:

Well, a couple of pros, who lost because they messed up and didn't finish. In the series he wins every rally we know about. I decided he had to start winning sometime :)

Thanks for the comments!

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2008 12:35 PM Title: Chapter 1

I always love it when you post a story.

I like seeing the conflicts between Jason and Mark, but I also like seeing them work it out. There are times when I think Mark is a real dunderhead and Jason's too sensative, but it always works out.

Anything new on Mark's condition? 



Author's Response:

I think this is a problem with writing from Jason's POV - Mark's actually far more competent than he's thinking at this point, and he himself isn't nearly as perfect as he'd like to believe, and I have a real problem getting that over...

The main arc is proceeding slowly. It'll get there eventually.

Reviewer: petra Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/23/2008 10:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

Excellent. Just... excellent. Great to read something from you again.

Reviewer: lborgia88 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2008 9:06 PM Title: Chapter 1

This fic has me contemplating the tricky balance of friendship and conflict that exists between your Mark and Jason, and how well you've handled and developed it throughout your whole arc.  It reminds me how much tension there was between them at the beginning (and how far they've come since) and sheds more light on how that gradually changed.  I really enjoyed reading this!

Author's Response: Thanks! I do feel that, even in canon, there's considerably more rivalry between the two early on in the series, and Mark's position isn't yet set in stone. I mean, in Magnetic Attraction Jason actively tries to take command, and Mark tries to step down in one of the other early episodes.

Reviewer: ghost owl Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2008 6:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

Another great story from you, Catherine. I'm no great shakes as a driver but I spend enough time traversing gravel roads and tracks that your descriptions reminded me of the time I rolled my SUV! :/ A well-researched, well written story overall, and as usual, your characters were nicely fleshed out with reasons for all that they did.

Kudos, as always.

Author's Response: Thanks! Since I have absolutely no experience in this area at all and made it all up on the fly, that's definitely a compliment.

You must login (register) to review.