Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Ms. Ann OMalley Reviews Gatchaman and Battle of the Planets.
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/23/2016 4:39 PM Title: msannomalley Reviews Magnetic Attraction

Laughed and fist-pumped over the joke about Susan's USB port.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/23/2016 4:36 PM Title: msannomalley Reviews The Duplicate King

Interestingly, the King in the Gatch episode uses his cane on the wrong side, while the imposter uses it correctly.

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2015 4:41 PM Title: msannomalley Reviews Magnetic Attraction

This is one of my favourite eps, for all the reasons ms Ann mentions!

Reviewer: KT1972 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2015 4:57 AM Title: msannomalley Reviews Super Space Spies

Laugh out loud funny.... excellent work!

Author's Response: Thanks. :) 

Reviewer: ElectricWhite Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2015 9:44 PM Title: msannomalley Reviews Super Space Spies

Have you, like, been writing these for a while and storing them until you can unleash them all at once? At any rate, you've scored another hit! (You've given me a few ideas for future work...heh heh heh!)

Author's Response: I wish I could say that I've been hoarding these, but no. I think I've been productive because I need something else to write to counter the academic writing I have to do for school.  LOL  That and I had to rethink my original approach to these (which was originally the amazement at what was cut out from Gatch to BoTP and this was before the ADV dubs came out.) Thanks for reading and I'm glad you're enjoying them.  

Reviewer: ElectricWhite Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2015 7:57 PM Title: Decoys of Doom

Long story short: I can't read this without laughing!

Author's Response: Thanks. :)

Reviewer: KT1972 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2015 5:40 AM Title: Decoys of Doom

Oh wonderful! I love the idea that Zark invented helicopter parenting!It really fits :)

Gonna have to rewatch this ep to see the phallic staircase too.... thanks for pointing it out :)

Author's Response: The "staircase" caught me by surprise. I'd never noticed it until now. :) Thanks for reading. 

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2015 2:51 PM Title: msannomalley Reviews The Awesome Ray Force

And neither version explains how G2 reached the UNDERWATER base in his car.

Reviewer: KT1972 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2015 11:20 AM Title: msannomalley Reviews The Awesome Ray Force

Love it msann :P didn't stop giggling throughout. Keep up the excellent work!

Author's Response: Thanks. :) I've got a few more reviews in the works so stay tuned! 

Reviewer: ElectricWhite Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2015 10:32 AM Title: msannomalley Reviews The Awesome Ray Force

Zark with a peanut allergy...oh, I wish I'd thought of that! All the fun possibilities...(insert evil laugh here. Thanks.)

Author's Response: Thanks.:) As I said to KT, there are more reviews coming. Stay tuned! 

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/06/2014 5:28 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP Episode 34/Gatch Episode 41

Welcome back!

Author's Response: Thanks! 

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2014 11:21 AM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP Episode 34/Gatch Episode 41

Ms Ann, to be honest, I didn't really remember this ep (I mean before I got the boxset)...but I most certainly will now!

We need more of your reviews [waves madly]!

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2013 2:08 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP & Gatchaman Episode Nine

Notice where the period went missing?

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2013 2:06 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP & Gatchaman Episode Nine

Jinpei is wearing fundoshi, a sort of loincloth. Before Americans introduced Western-style undergarments, Japanese men wore them.

I am surprised that the Sandy Frank people didn't find a way to color in Keyop's rump. Perhaps they figured nobody would notice VCRs were expensive and thus uncommon at the time BotP aired (and probably not wasted on a cartoon), so few could check even if they did spot G4's naked bum.

Reviewer: Kamen Rider Skyrider Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/18/2012 3:00 PM Title: Ms. Ann Reviews BoTP & Gatchaman Episode Deux

I despise Zark, so much.... it isnt funny. Just watched this episode and I wanted the torture to end. Excellent review.

Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2011 11:53 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP and Gatchaman Episodes 1

I loved this review, it made me LOL.  Still, I like "BoTP" better than "Gatchaman", even though I'm 40+ years old and I know I "should" like the "grown up" version better.  I just... IDK, maybe it's because I grew up with "BoTP".  

 What I wish is that we could get a straight US dub of all of the original "Gatchaman" eps with the voice talent from "BoTP".  That... would be *amazing*! 

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2011 2:06 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BotP Episode 22/Gatchaman Episode 25

I can't believe I missed the [i]Pumaman[/i] reference the first time around. A superhero movie in which the sidekick/mentor is tougher than the title character (even after he gets superpowers).

Oh, and in my neck of the woods, BotP aired on a UHF station that subsequently hosted the [i]700 Club[/i]. Second time around, all references to Allah and the Luminous One were deleted. Mysterious 'empty' spots in the dialogue.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2009 8:40 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BotP Episode 22/Gatchaman Episode 25

The show's writers were equal opportunity with blasphemy. Remember the Buddha with the death-ray? And only Galactor could come up with an insulting buffalo/totem-pole mecha.

Now I have to see the episode again to see if Lava Jesus really does have giant fiery junk showing....

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2009 8:11 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP Episode 34/Gatch Episode 41

You should get together with Transmute Jun and write reviews on Gatchamania. I need the nose-cola, and she needs the assistance.

Reviewer: Amethyst Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2009 6:06 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BotP Episode 22/Gatchaman Episode 25

WTF!!!! I had to stop mid-read to write part of this review, because the only way I could concentrate on reading the rest was to write my thoughts down.

First, I’ve not seen the Gatchaman version of this episode yet, only the BotP, so my eyes bugged out completely when I read that Mt Rushmore was in the Gatch-verse version of Yellowstone. I began to wonder about my teachers and my own since of geography. Which may not be great, but I did visit Mt Rushmore and the Black Hills when I was fifteen and my parents thought it would be fun to drive from north of San Francisico to Wisconsin to visit my aunt and uncle in Kenosha. Thankfully, my cousin the Mark fan was doing whatever Mark fans do, and no where near us. But I’ve never been to Yellowstone; though when I was four, I did want to visit Jellystone and meet Yogi.

Second, well, now we know why the Flaming Hippie Dude from the previous chapter looked like George Harrison.

Third, I think we can blame Channel 11 in Green Bay for the abomination of the nineties, called Barney. Sosai X must have taken over one of their executives and combined your white-blob with Berg Katse and Godzilla (which I believe is the other show you referenced with the song-bite).

Now, I can return to reading, after writing probably the longest review I’ve written for non-academic purposes. I wish my students would give me this much to comment on with there writing. Most of the time I correct their grammar and let it pass because the truth would just be to brutal for their over-PC’d minds to comprehend.

Shasta is not dormant nor is it on the peninsula! St. Helena (not to be confused with St. Helens which is an active volcano in Washington) is a remnant of one that blew itself to bits thousands of years ago, but it is still not on the peninsula. I can’t speak for much below Monterey. Crap, I’m beginning to think that I know more geography than these writers, and I didn’t do so well with the subject in the sixth and ninth grades when it was taught in California.

I won’t comment on the religious bashing, mostly because I have none. Ironically I married an Italian without religion (quite funny, being English and German it’s not so surprising that most of my family is Protestant/Agnostic/Athiest, but my hubby’s family, who are primarily Italian are the same way except for an aunt and his sister, but she only converted once she got married and had kids), so maybe there is hope that Condor Joe growing up away from the Pope and Catholic discrimination practices (and yes they are quite discriminatory) was not brainwashed to believe that the rest of us, who practice common sense and believe that woman have rights to their own bodies, will not be banished to purgatory for eternity. Besides the creators also bashed the Buddhist with the Buddha-mech, so it all evens out.

Reviewer: Amethyst Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2009 8:47 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP Episode 10 and Gatchaman Episode 10

Actually, I could see Ken skipping off and joining a monastry once everything is done. Of course I also think that he is the team leader by default because: A) Nambu felt sorry for Ken because Ken's father was a friend and Nambu ordered him away from his family B) Joe didn't want the job C)Nambu didn't want Joe to have the job because they'ed fight more D) Or Maybe Nambu didn't completely trust Joe at that time.

Reviewer: Amethyst Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2009 8:07 PM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP Episode 10 and Gatchaman Episode 10

Well, I now know where most of my middle school class learned to dance; sadly I remember most of us dancing like that in the early 80's. Of course we were a small backwards town that was said to be 20 years behind the times. We did have modern music though. One-third the class danced to the hair-metal, one-third danced to new-wave, and the rest of the idiots danced to bubble gum pop. It is really sad that so many of your reviews trigger flashbacks to my youth. I must say that I'll never look at a bullet-vibe (TMI!!!)without cringing. Though I am tempted to buy one, paint it up like Zark and send it to my cousin, the Mark fan, who I am not speaking to.

Reviewer: Amethyst Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2009 11:36 AM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP/Gatchaman Episode 8

ROTFL! Have I mentioned how much I've enjoyed reading your reviews? The description of the highway reststops in Wisconsin reminded me of some of the ones we hit on I-80 and other highways too numerous to mention when my parents insisted that we drive from California to Wisconsin for vacation when I was fifteen. To top it off they wouldn't even let me drive even though I had my learners permit. I think they were afraid of what I might try to do with my mother' Thunderbird on the interstate (especially considering she wouldn't even let me drive it around town). What that has to do with this review, I'm not sure but your introduction got me thinking of that. And our trip the next year to Wisconsin when we flew out, only to be met with my Cousin (the idiot who thinks that Mark is the greatest incarnation of G-1) and her parents who are telling my uncle that it's all right for her to drive because she has her learners permit, and all of them missed the look in my eye that would have warned them that if the keys got put in her hand she'd have been pounded to a pulp before she even got the door open.

Reviewer: Amethyst Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2009 10:54 AM Title: Ms Ann Reviews BoTP Episode 34/Gatch Episode 41

I just watched the ADV dubbed version of this. The one thing I noticed is the band reminded me of the Rolling Stones when they backed up Bette Midler for her recording of Beast of Burden (Yes they all looked that old and road worn). And of course half the crowd looked to be the age we are now (late thirties) and over a quarter looked to be the age my parents are now (that lost generation between the fifties beatniks and the hippies of the late sixties and early seventies who are now in their sixties and seventies). Only a handfule looked to be teens and young adults.

Reviewer: Amethyst Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2009 12:43 PM Title: Ms. Ann Reviews BoTP & Gatchaman Episode Deux

When I was eight, my cousin and I would get into fights about who was better Jason or Mark. They usually ended with me punching her and her crying (I think that should give away our sides). Casey Kasem is Shaggy, and even without his "zoinks" he will always either be Shaggy or the annoying Bandstand guy and all of his other characters come across as an annoying mix between the two. Mark being closer to the annoying Bandstand guy; maybe he'd have been cooler if he said "zoinks" once in awhile.

Author's Response: LOL!  Or was always hungry.  Or had a canine sidekick.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.