Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Out of the Shadows
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Redbird Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2014 8:28 PM Title: Happily Ever After

Another wonderful installment in this series! Ken and Joe's actions ring true here. Joe's fear about revealing what he's become, and what might become of him when he's found out. And Ken knowing something is wrong, wanting his old friend back and trying to understand without any input from him. His pain and grief really showed through. That in particular was heartbreaking. Top it all off with Nambu keeping secrets from the team. Great story!

Reviewer: Redbird Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2014 6:09 PM Title: Out of the Shadows

Why doesn't this have more reviews!? I love this story and how you've filled in the time Joe was away from the team. It's so well thought out and I think you've got the characters pegged. There are so many standout emotional moments in this fic. For example in the beginning, when Ken visits Joe's grave and thinks about how he still half expects him to come running in late when they're called for a mission, and him second guessing leaving Joe behind at Karakoram. Or the part where Jun reflects on what happened after Joe's passing, with her doing his laundry (etc) made my eyes leak. Then there's Joe himself, trying to keep his former teammates safe, part of him secretly wishing he could be with them, the other half insisting they'll reject him. Very realistic.

Reviewer: Redbird Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/31/2014 5:30 PM Title: Christmas in the Shadows 2

Wait a minute.....Joe wears a bathrobe? LOL. Always figured he was a plain ol' towel wrapped around the waist kinda guy...or not. :P

Enjoyed Joe and Ryu's trip to find the tree, you would think they'd know better by now. Loved Jinpei's version of "Winter Wonderland" too. Overall, nicely done! :)

Reviewer: Springie Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2013 1:37 AM Title: Happily Ever After

You have such talent at sharing believable dialogue! I could really hear their voices as I read! I agree, this is the way it should have been handled. Joe trusted Ken enough to share his past...now he should be able to share his future. I can envision a lot of angst happening when Ken starts having health problems (in Gatch F). Thought provoking! 

Reviewer: jublke Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2012 9:49 PM Title: Happily Ever After

Engaging & painful, heartwarming & heartbreaking.  How Joe's reunion should have played out.

Reviewer: jublke Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/14/2012 8:58 PM Title: Christmas in the Shadows

Loved the image of Ken and Jun on the dance floor.  I kept hoping that, somehow, Joe would get to see that and know he'd helped their romance along.

Reviewer: Chris White Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2012 7:01 AM Title: The River Divided

I've been pondering trying to do a world swap with Raven (name of my main series) and pondering how the people in the other world would survive him, hehe. I can imagine how fun it would be to keep things "real" but still explore the differences!

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2012 10:25 PM Title: The River Divided

I love how distinct and real both worlds feel, and the differences in the relationships, etc. So many universe swaps play it for silly humor. While that's fun, I enjoyed this more serious take.

Author's Response: Thank you. We had a lot of fun in the writing of the piece, but most of the fun was trying to maintain the integrity of the original universes. :-)

Reviewer: vaniahepskins Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/22/2011 4:28 PM Title: Christmas in the Shadows

Oh! So sweet! I just read today and enjoyed so much, i think i have read this wonderful story before, but i can´t remember... Thanks for sharing! =)

Reviewer: vaniahepskins Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2010 7:35 PM Title: The River Divided

I have enjoyed your fanfic fic so much, so thank you very much, both of you! =)

Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/20/2008 11:16 PM Title: The River Divided


I read this on the other version of the archive and loved it - bravo!

Reviewer: Lord Als Sinc [de Alter] Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2008 9:04 AM Title: Out of the Shadows

Being kinda person with good fantasy and with mind never having rest, I've though the Original Gatchaman Universe to pieces while trying to imagine and describe the life of the Team between the missions, and all other events that happened off-screen. The most intriguing thing is, of couse, Joe's life between Gatchaman and Gatchaman II. Since this is the only fanfic about the period of Gatch Universe History, it couldn't be bad. But it's not bad even without the fact it's unique. It's large; the plot is really of somewhat amazing; the characterization is well-kept. Finally we saw the true face of Dr. Rafael. This fanfic describes the characters' deep inner feelings quite well, whic is also a plus. So, for having Joe living his new life through in the time of middle-Gallactor peace, I'll thank Diinzumo and put a highest rating to this fic.

Reviewer: Julieann Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2007 8:01 PM Title: The River Divided

What a fun romp through both fanfic universes! I stayed up reading this instead of working on my own stuff. The difference in command style, bantering and the inter-personal relationships were fun to see, as well as seeing through the eyes of the G1 the characters of the teams themselves. I liked how Ken and Chief Anderson came to initially trust each other. As well as Mark's first flight in the new G1 jet and his first look at the new God Phoenix. I would be horrified, too. ;)

 

Halfway through I was hoping Mark would meet the future Joe, and I wasn't disappointed. Now I have to go read Out Of The Shadows again. :)

 

The relationship between Mark and Jun was a little bittersweet, especially how it ends. Jun really isn't any better off, and I'm not sure Ken really learned all that much despite Princess getting into his face.

 

We should get you two together to write more often. :)

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.